OT: Serendipity Sounds scam email targeting artists... - Ernie Ball Forums
Ernie Ball Forums

Go Back   Ernie Ball Forums > Gear Talk > Music Man Guitars

Music Man Guitars Chat about Music Man Guitars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2007, 03:21 PM
Bill Palmer's Avatar
Registered User
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 121
OT: Serendipity Sounds scam email targeting artists...

Hey just posting this here so others will know...
If you have your own music, a myspace or sonicbids page you may have been approached by a mob known as Serendipity Sounds

If you get contacted by "Serendipity Sounds" asking you to submit yourself for consideration on their compilation Cd beware... It's a money making scam! They even have a myspace page!
Here is their sales pitch: Message us if you would like information on how to get your music on our upcoming sampler CD. If you represent a music focused company/publication/etc and would like a free copy of our sampler or are just a music fan who likes checking out new bands, let us know and we will send you a free copy as soon as we release the sampler.

They never respond personally to your email, you just get a notification saying that "We've picked you to be on our sampler CD! After sorting through the submissions and unfortunately having to deny a lot of good music, we've picked you!"
You are then asked to pay them $200US (they send you an invoice) for the opportunity to have your music distributed to "industry people." Apparently they give you 35 copies of the sampler Cd after you have paid. They have no website (just a "coming soon" homepage), no contact phone numbers etc so it's all just a bit fishy. If you are approached, fire them back an email with some legitimate questions and SEE if you get a response.

Send this info to others, the more that know the less chance of people getting conned.

Bill
__________________
www.myspace.com/palmermusic
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:06 AM
Colin's Avatar
Registered User
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brisbane Queensland
Posts: 9,534
Bill, did you get stung?
__________________


_______Australian Music Man Dealer Contact us or Check out our videos!
_______Guitar Planet is now on Twitter
http://twitter.com/GuitarPlanetAus
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2007, 01:04 AM
Bill Palmer's Avatar
Registered User
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: QLD Australia
Posts: 121
Quote:
Bill, did you get stung?
Nah mate, not me. My BS detector is on red-alert these days but I did email them asking about the promotional CD "thinking" it was legit. I checked out the Sonicbids forum and it looks like this mob has been targeting myspace and sonicbids profiles... A few people have been stung it seems. I emailed them with some legit questions (i.e: who was not selected for the compilation cd, who are you specifically shopping the cd to etc, etc...) over a week ago and have not received a reply. Seems to be the muso equivalent of the Nigerian investment scam! Would hate to see any EB forumites get stung for $200US when they could have bagged an EB wah or something similar, hence the post.

Bill
__________________
www.myspace.com/palmermusic
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Copyright © 1995-2009 Ernie Ball Inc., San Luis Obispo, California, U.S.A. All Rights Reserved